Institutional BioSafety Committee


Meeting Schedule and Committee Composition

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) reviews, approves, and oversees all research activities involving recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules and/or biohazardous material research in human, animal, plant, and laboratory (in vitro) use on the University of Missouri campus. This process provides guidelines that ensure appropriate biosafety procedures, equipment, facilities, and training are adequate in conjunction with the biohazard risk.

COMMITTEE MEETING DATES PROTOCOL SUBMISSION DEADLINE DATES**
Thursday, November 29, 2018 Thursday, October 25, 2018
Thursday, January 24, 2019 Monday, December 24, 2018
Thursday, February 28, 2019 Thursday, January 31, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019 Thursday, February 28, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019 Thursday, March 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019 (2:00 pm) Thursday, April 25, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019 (2:00 pm) Thursday, May 30, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019 (2:00 pm) Thursday, June 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019 Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019 Thursday, August 22, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019 Thursday, September 26, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019 Thursday, October 24, 2019

Meetings are held at the General Services Building and start promptly at 3:00 pm unless otherwise noted.

** Protocol submission cutoff dates are to assure adequate time for committee review.

Approved Policies, Procedures and Guidelines

 

Committee Organization

Chair
Roger W Stich, PhD, Professor Veterinary Pathobiology, (573) 882-3148

The IBC is comprised of the Recombinant or Nucleic Acid Molecule Research Subcommittee and the Biosafety Subcommittee.

Recombinant or Nucleic Acid Molecule
Research Subcommittee
Biosafety Subcommittee
Roger Stich - Chair
Professor
Veterinary Pathobiology
215 Connaway Hall
(573) 882-3148
            
Marie Dickerson
Senior Research Specialist
Biochemistry
117 Schweitzer Hall
(573) 882-1493

 

            
James Schoelz
Professor
Plant Sciences
106 Waters Hall
(573) 882-1185

 

Scott Korte
Veterinarian
Office of Animal Resources
1720 E Park Loop
(573) 882-8485
        
Sid Popejoy
Community Member
Columbia, MO
(573) 882-7018
            
Travis McCarthy
Biosafety Professional
Regional Biocontainment Lab
1817 East Campus Loop
(573) 882-1484
            
Amy Pierce
Community Member
Jefferson City, MO
(573) 882-7018
            
Steve Hynes
Biological Safety Officer
Environmental Health & Safety
180 General Services Bldg
(573) 882-5020
            
Jason Gillman
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Plant Sciences
27 Mumford Hall
(573) 882-0617
            

 

            
Bumsuk Hahm
Associate Professor
Molecular Microbiology & Immunology
NW301C Medical Sciences Building
(573) 884-8838
            
  Roger Stich
Associate Professor
Veterinary Pathobiology
210 Connaway Hall
(573) 882-3148